Coming July 1, 2018: Humans In My House and the Animals Beyond It

11 Jun

Humans In My House and the Animals Beyond It chapter two illustration. Illustrator Victoria Lyons, 2018.

The third installment of the Humans In My House series is on its way! Look for a cover reveal Friday, June 15, 2018 and publication July 1, 2018 (Amazon Kindle and paperback).

In Kepler’s newest adventure, he and Emily meet animals from around the world during a trip to the zoo. Find out what conservationists are doing to help keep Kepler’s animal family happy and healthy both within the zoo and in their natural habitats, and learn how you can be a conservationist right from home!

Haven’t read the first two books in the series? Not to worry! Look for sales prices on books 1 and 2 during release, and get the whole series for a great deal!

Humans In My House is for readers aged 8 to 12, cat lovers, and anyone who loves our planet 🙂

Look for complimentary kid’s book club discussion prompts, vocabulary lists, and reading comprehension lessons after release. Downloadable lessons and other materials for previous volumes are here.

Advertisements

Convention Schedule 2018-2019

17 Feb

Want signed copies of Nova June: Inventor, the Humans In My House or Acephalous series? Want to talk writing? Want to adopt a #pocketkitty and join in #Kepler’s fun? Come see me at my upcoming appearances. Check here for updates or join my mailing list!

2018

FEBRUARY

  • February 24, 2018: Multi-Author Book Signing @ Sugar Island, 206 N Topsail Dr, Surf City, NC 28445
    • 12:30pm, free event

MARCH

  • March 10, 2018: Surfside Beach BBQ Festival, Town of Surfside Beach, SC
  • March 17, 2018: Adoptapalooza 2018, Palmetto Ace Home Center, 8317 Ocean Hwy,
    Pawleys Island, South Carolina 29585-8438

    • This is a pet adoption event held yearly to help clear the shelters. All adoption fees have been sponsored by the businesses participating. Come get a furry family member!
    • Event details here

APRIL

https://roanokeauthorinvasion.files.wordpress.com/2017/07/rai18-fb-cover-2.jpg?w=1176

 

  • April 7, 2018: Roanoke Author Invasion 2018, Holiday Inn Tanglewood-Roanoke
  • April 28, 2018: The Crate Escape Adoption Event, PetSmart 1391 S Commons Dr., Myrtle Beach, South Carolina 29588
    • This is a clear the shelters pet adoption event. I’ll be there selling Humans In My House (cat books) and others, plus other handmade cat merch!
    • FREE event, info here

JULY

Raleigh Supercon

  • July 27-29, 2018: Raleigh SuperCon, Raleigh Convention Center

OCTOBER

Picture

  • October 20, 2018: RVA Booklovers’ Festival
    • FREE event. Info here.

 

2019

APRIL

Image may contain: text

  • April 6, 2019: Roanoke Author Invasion 2019, @ Holiday Inn Tanglewood-Roanoke
    • FREE Author Signing. Info here.

MAY

Image may contain: sky, ocean, outdoor and water

  • May 4, 2019: Authors Invade the Beach, Myrtle Beach, SC
    • Event page coming soon.

 

Save

NaNoWriMo 2018

1 Nov

NaNo-2018-Writer-Facebook-Cover

HAPPY NaNoWriMo 2018.

It’s day 1, and I’m done with today’s count. I didn’t do what I said I would do in October, but this month I get serious. Follow along with my word counts to stay on track with your own WriMo goals. We can encourage one another.

The minimum to reach 50k by the end of the month and “win” NaNoWriMo is 1,667 words a day. My personal goal, as usual, is 2,000 a day. These extra words add up to a lot of cushion for days you just can’t make it happen, and with the Thanksgiving holiday, those kind of days are likely.

Best of luck to all WriMoers! And remember, there’s no limit to how rough a rough draft can be. This month is for telling yourself the story. Next month is for making it presentable. So, just get SOMETHING on the page. Every day. Here we go!

Today: 2,112 words
Total: 11,543

Nova June: Inventor

30 Jul

img_20180314_150646_143328941452.jpg

Nova June: Inventor©2018: Available on Amazon in paperback and Kindle.

Picture Book, STEM/Educational Fiction (3-7 years)

Cover Summary:

Who is Nova June?
A BRIGHT MIND
A DETERMINED SPIRIT
A FEARLESS VISIONARY
She and her pet box turtle, Georgie, are out to change the world one invention at a time.
Nova never stops creating. She knows progress means paying attention to the STEM trail-blazers who came before her. Learning from their mistakes and successes is the way to improve, and she plans to do just that.

 

Vicki Baty Reviews Humans In My House

2 Jul

Humans In My House (series book 1) Chapter 4 illustration, art by Victoria Lyons, 2015

Vicki Baty, Co-Owner of Bookends, a wonderful new and used book store in North Myrtle Beach and book blogger at Beach Walk Book Talks, reviews Humans In My House (series book 1). Review republished with permission. Full article of her other Independence Day reads and recommendations at the link.

 

“Humans In My House by Amanda Marsico – There are terrific self-published books for children as well as adults and this one by Amanda Marsico is very enjoyable.  A cat having been dumped by a human, is living his life in an abandoned house.  He has a lovely time living a life of freedom until he meets some special children who teach him what friends, loyalty, love, and home are all about.  The sequel – Humans In My House and the stars above it continues the adventure.  These are perfect middle school reads.”

 

**Personal note: I make a point not to alter my reviewers’ words or thoughts about my books. However, I don’t want readers to be misinformed. Although the review calls these “middle school reads,” I want you to know that the Humans In My House series is marketed for 8-12 years as this is the industry-standard range used for “middle grade fiction.” 12 years is pushing the age where these books may no longer challenge even if they still amuse. My typical customers range from 7-10 years. Humans book 1 is the easiest of the series, followed by book 3, and book 2 in ascending levels of difficulty.

 

 

Book Review: Acephalous

30 Jun

Nat from Nat’s Book Review Blog Reviews Acephalous

“I liked this book. There were things that I didn’t like too much, the pacing and the main character, mainly. Overall, I really liked the book though. This book is perfect for fans of Holly Black and once I was able to sit and read for a couple hours, I was hooked. I’m looking forward to the sequel and I’ll probably be re-reading this book in the near(ish) future.”

Book Release Updates

27 Jun

Humans In My House 3 will release ON TIME for Kindle, July 1. Amazon price promotions on series e-books 1 and 2 will run July 1-7. Paperback publication will be delayed. I don’t know how long.

Ontogenesis is still ON SCHEDULE for July 6 in Kindle and paperback. There will be no Amazon price promotion for series e-book 1, but it will be available for 75% OFF through www.Smashwords.com for the ENTIRE MONTH OF JULY! Just search Acephalous or Amanda Marsico.

Blogger Spotlight: The Broody Bantam

22 Jun
eggs in the metal basket

Photo by Kaboompics .com on Pexels.com

I don’t have any book news or new articles for you today, so I thought I’d share The Broody Bantam, written by a good friend of mine.
For any of you interested in homesteading, goats and chickens, and lots of child shenanigans, this is the place for you. Personally, I’m not a farming kind of girl, but because of the stories here, I get a chance to experience vicariously things I would NEVER know about or do myself. And, after all, writers are always watching other people for knowledge about life they can’t gather on their own.
Hope you enjoy 🙂

~Cover Reveal~ Ontogenesis: Acephalous Book 2

21 Jun

Available on Amazon July 6, 2018.

In book 2 of the Acephalous series, Breena must contend with the results of her previous actions. As book 1 follows her to rock bottom, book 2 sees Bree wake up to reality and make a plan to clean up her messes. It is a long road to Gehenna, and to reconciliation, but she has learned to forge ahead with others’ interests at heart rather than escaping as in the past. While certain conflicts are put to rest, others still seethe beneath the surface. Her new approach to balancing chaos with peace throws tradition to the wind as she takes her role as Queen of Gehenna.

The Acephalous series is a mature young adult (15+) metaphysical drama with an urban fantasy mood. Readers of Cassandra Clare, P.C. and Kristin Cast, and Lauren Kate will enjoy the series.

Look for book 3, the final installment, Winter 2019.

%d bloggers like this: