Archive | Blog RSS feed for this section

NaNoWriMo 2018

1 Nov

NaNo-2018-Writer-Facebook-Cover

HAPPY NaNoWriMo 2018.

It’s day 1, and I’m done with today’s count. I didn’t do what I said I would do in October, but this month I get serious. Follow along with my word counts to stay on track with your own WriMo goals. We can encourage one another.

The minimum to reach 50k by the end of the month and “win” NaNoWriMo is 1,667 words a day. My personal goal, as usual, is 2,000 a day. These extra words add up to a lot of cushion for days you just can’t make it happen, and with the Thanksgiving holiday, those kind of days are likely.

Best of luck to all WriMoers! And remember, there’s no limit to how rough a rough draft can be. This month is for telling yourself the story. Next month is for making it presentable. So, just get SOMETHING on the page. Every day. Here we go!

Today: 2,112 words
Total: 11,543

Advertisements

Vicki Baty Reviews Humans In My House

2 Jul

Humans In My House (series book 1) Chapter 4 illustration, art by Victoria Lyons, 2015

Vicki Baty, Co-Owner of Bookends, a wonderful new and used book store in North Myrtle Beach and book blogger at Beach Walk Book Talks, reviews Humans In My House (series book 1). Review republished with permission. Full article of her other Independence Day reads and recommendations at the link.

 

“Humans In My House by Amanda Marsico – There are terrific self-published books for children as well as adults and this one by Amanda Marsico is very enjoyable.  A cat having been dumped by a human, is living his life in an abandoned house.  He has a lovely time living a life of freedom until he meets some special children who teach him what friends, loyalty, love, and home are all about.  The sequel – Humans In My House and the stars above it continues the adventure.  These are perfect middle school reads.”

 

**Personal note: I make a point not to alter my reviewers’ words or thoughts about my books. However, I don’t want readers to be misinformed. Although the review calls these “middle school reads,” I want you to know that the Humans In My House series is marketed for 8-12 years as this is the industry-standard range used for “middle grade fiction.” 12 years is pushing the age where these books may no longer challenge even if they still amuse. My typical customers range from 7-10 years. Humans book 1 is the easiest of the series, followed by book 3, and book 2 in ascending levels of difficulty.

 

 

Book Review: Acephalous

30 Jun

Nat from Nat’s Book Review Blog Reviews Acephalous

“I liked this book. There were things that I didn’t like too much, the pacing and the main character, mainly. Overall, I really liked the book though. This book is perfect for fans of Holly Black and once I was able to sit and read for a couple hours, I was hooked. I’m looking forward to the sequel and I’ll probably be re-reading this book in the near(ish) future.”

Book Release Updates

27 Jun

Humans In My House 3 will release ON TIME for Kindle, July 1. Amazon price promotions on series e-books 1 and 2 will run July 1-7. Paperback publication will be delayed. I don’t know how long.

Ontogenesis is still ON SCHEDULE for July 6 in Kindle and paperback. There will be no Amazon price promotion for series e-book 1, but it will be available for 75% OFF through www.Smashwords.com for the ENTIRE MONTH OF JULY! Just search Acephalous or Amanda Marsico.

Blogger Spotlight: The Broody Bantam

22 Jun
eggs in the metal basket

Photo by Kaboompics .com on Pexels.com

I don’t have any book news or new articles for you today, so I thought I’d share The Broody Bantam, written by a good friend of mine.
For any of you interested in homesteading, goats and chickens, and lots of child shenanigans, this is the place for you. Personally, I’m not a farming kind of girl, but because of the stories here, I get a chance to experience vicariously things I would NEVER know about or do myself. And, after all, writers are always watching other people for knowledge about life they can’t gather on their own.
Hope you enjoy 🙂

~Cover Reveal~ Ontogenesis: Acephalous Book 2

21 Jun

Available on Amazon July 6, 2018.

In book 2 of the Acephalous series, Breena must contend with the results of her previous actions. As book 1 follows her to rock bottom, book 2 sees Bree wake up to reality and make a plan to clean up her messes. It is a long road to Gehenna, and to reconciliation, but she has learned to forge ahead with others’ interests at heart rather than escaping as in the past. While certain conflicts are put to rest, others still seethe beneath the surface. Her new approach to balancing chaos with peace throws tradition to the wind as she takes her role as Queen of Gehenna.

The Acephalous series is a mature young adult (15+) metaphysical drama with an urban fantasy mood. Readers of Cassandra Clare, P.C. and Kristin Cast, and Lauren Kate will enjoy the series.

Look for book 3, the final installment, Winter 2019.

Cover Reveal: Humans In My House and the Animals Beyond It (series book 3)

15 Jun

Available on Amazon in paperback and Kindle e-book July 1, 2018.

 

%d bloggers like this: